Ottawa banner

Our City and Our Campus

Our City

Ottawa is one of the most diverse cities in Canada. It owes its cosmopolitan flavour to its distinctive bilingual heritage and to the many immigrants who settle here each year. Established in 1826, Ottawa is also one of North America’s most historic cities. It was named Canada’s capital in 1857, thanks to its prime location between Toronto and Quebec City. Beyond its political importance, Ottawa ranks among the cleanest and safest cities in the world.

With a population of just over one million, Ottawa has all the advantages of a large urban centre. Throughout the year, its lively festivals, magnificent museums and talented performing arts companies draw thousands of people from across Canada and around the world. Yet, its stunning green spaces give the city the feel of a smaller urban centre. Visitors have easy access to spectacular parks and wilderness where they can enjoy outdoor activities such as cross-country skiing, mountain biking and white-water rafting.

Our city has something for everyone:

  • The Rideau Canal—a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the largest skating rink in the world
  • The National Gallery of Canada and the Canadian Museum of Civilization—world-class showcases of art, architecture and culture
  • Parliament Hill—the seat of the federal government and the setting for Canada Day celebrations
  • The ByWard Market—a downtown shopping and dining district where you will also find one of the country’s oldest farmers’ markets
  • Bluesfest—one of North America’s largest outdoor music festivals
  • The Canadian Tulip Festival—an annual display of tulips along the Rideau Canal
  • Gatineau Park—a wilderness area that includes more than 350 square kilometres of forest, lakes, foothills and nature trails

For more information on things to see and do in Ottawa, visit Ottawa Tourism.

 

Our Campus

Located steps away from many of the city’s major attractions, the University of Ottawa is a vibrant centre of learning. Its rich selection of more than 300 undergraduate and 150 graduate programs attracts nearly 40,000 students from across Canada and more than 100 other countries. The University’s faculties of Engineering, Management, Medicine, and Science, among others, contribute to its standing as one of the top 10 research institutions in Canada. With its broad range of programs, innovative research initiatives and uniquely bilingual campus, the University of Ottawa has earned its reputation as “Canada’s university.”

Campus Map

Students will find many resources and activities on campus:

  • Multipurpose computer facilities
  • Modern multimedia classrooms
  • Extensive library system
  • Regularly scheduled concerts, plays and films
  • International student organizations and festivals
  • Excellent leisure and sports facilities

Book a campus tour

Back to top

Banniere Ottawa

Notre ville et notre campus

Notre ville

Ottawa est l’une des villes les plus diversifiées au Canada, qui doit son caractère cosmopolite à son patrimoine bilingue particulier et aux nombreux immigrants qui s’y établissent chaque année. Fondée en 1826, Ottawa est aussi l’une des villes les plus historiques en Amérique du Nord et a été désignée la capitale nationale du Canada en 1857 en raison de sa situation stratégique entre les villes de Toronto et Québec. Outre son importance politique, Ottawa se classe parmi les villes les plus propres et les plus sûres au monde.

Ottawa, avec sa population d’un peu plus d’un million, dispose de tous les avantages d’un grand centre urbain. Chaque année, ses festivals, ses musées et ses compagnies d’arts du spectacle attirent des milliers de visiteurs de partout au Canada et du monde entier. Pourtant, ses nombreux espaces verts donnent l’impression d’une agglomération plus petite. Les visiteurs ont facilement accès à des parcs et à des paysages spectaculaires où ils peuvent pratiquer des activités de plein air, notamment le ski de fond, le vélo de montagne et la descente en eau vive.

Notre ville présente des attraits pour tous

  • Canal Rideau—site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et plus grande patinoire du monde
  • Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et Musée canadien de l'histoire—vitrines des arts, de l’architecture et de la culture de classe mondiale
  • Colline du Parlement—siège du gouvernement fédéral où se tiennent les festivités de la fête du Canada
  • Marché By—destination du centre-ville pour le magasinage et la restauration où l’on peut aussi trouver l’un des plus anciens marchés d’agriculteurs au pays
  • Bluesfest—l’un des festivals de musique extérieurs les plus courus en Amérique du Nord
  • Festival canadien des tulipes—parcours annuel de tulipes le long du canal Rideau
  • Parc de la Gatineau—vaste réserve sauvage de forêts, de lacs, de contreforts et de sentiers de randonnée s’étendant sur plus de 350 kilomètres carrés

Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur les activités et les attractions à Ottawa, visitez le site Tourisme Ottawa.

 

Notre campus

Située à proximité des principales attractions de la ville, l’Université d’Ottawa est un milieu d’apprentissage dynamique qui offre une vaste sélection de plus de 300 programmes de premier cycle et de 150 programmes d’études supérieures attirant près de 40 000 étudiants venus de partout au Canada et de plus de 100 pays étrangers. Ses facultés de génie, de gestion, de médecine et des sciences, entre autres, contribuent à sa réputation en tant des 10 meilleurs instituts de recherche au Canada. Grâce à sa vaste gamme de programmes, ses initiatives de recherche novatrice et son campus bilingue unique, l’Université d’Ottawa s’est acquis la renommée d’être « l’Université canadienne ».

Carte du campus

Les étudiants trouveront des ressources et des activités sur le campus :

  • Installations informatiques multifonctionnelles
  • Salles de classe multimédias modernes
  • Vaste réseau de bibliothèques
  • Calendrier de concerts, de pièces et de films périodiques
  • Organisations et festivals pour étudiants étrangers
  • Excellentes installations récréatives et sportives

Réservez une visite guidée du campus

Haut de page